Day 4 of Fashion Week Part I

On Wednesday, September 12th, Nolcha Fashion Week: New York presented their runway shows at Pier 59. This was located in Chealsea on the water. It was beautiful! The show showcased 4 runway shows which I will be splitting into two posts since they are so picture heavy. The first set was menswear which included designers, PrettyGreen, FireTrap (with shoes by Cat Footwear), Bolongaro Trevor, and Richard Smith Prêt à Porter.

My favorite line was the Richard Smith collection. It was well made, ready to wear, suits. The models looked great and the suits looked great on the models. There was even one untraditional model that killed it! The designer was very nice in person as well and very thankful for our appreciation for his collection.

Here is a bio from http://www.nolchafashionweek.com/ about this designer since I liked this designers collection so much:

 Designer Name: Richard Jonathan Smith

Label Name: Richard Smith Prêt à Porter

Website: www.richardsmithbespoke.co.uk

Origin: Manchester, United Kingdom

“It has been my ambition to launch a label that may one day be showcased during New York Fashion Week. Nolcha has facilitated this ambition, as the perfect platform to exhibit my collection.”

Background: Smith is a bespoke gentleman’s designer currently based in the UK. Having trained with the Giorgio Armani brand for 10 years, he branched out to create his own label, combining the craftsmanship of Savile Row tailoring with the design and flair of Italian high-end couture. This has created a highly unique design proposition, differentiating Smith from his peers who often conform to traditional, quintessentially English interpretations of bespoke attire.

Vision: My guiding principles are to create a new proposition in terms of Savile Row tailoring, moving away from the established British heritage style towards the aspirations of a more modern European gentleman. My design templates are to streamline the body silhouette. This emphasizes a sharp, crisp look not widely characterised by the New York market.

Signature style: Check, check and more check….

Influence: My inspiration is London. It epitomizes our unique street style, which combines the cool flair of the British male with the regionalized look of each district – very similar to New York. For example the London Shoreditch look, which incorporates neat, short jackets and slim trousers is typically seen in Chelsea and Greenwich. These are the influences of your New York designers such as Thom Browne, who has recently launched here in the UK.

Brand philosophy: Prince of Wales meets Tom Ford.

Making it happen: My greatest challenge was self belief – leaving my established Armani heritage and starting a label to compete with Savile Row peers.  The overwhelming support I receive daily from my friends, family and clients inspires me to overcome this.

Celebrity crush: I would personally like to dress Michael Fitzpatrick, aka Fitz, from Fitz and the Tantrums. As a musician he has natural confidence and flair that is reflected in his dapper style. I’d love to see him in one of my delightfully fitted check suits….

What does New York City mean to you? To me New York is about ambition. This is one of the few cities in the world that embraces ambition and drives success. To me therefore, it is the perfect city to launch my Prêt a Porter collection, as I’m confident the New York market will embrace my design philosophy.  To quote Peter Shaffer, “If London is a water colour, New York is an oil painting.”

The shows were presented by Rusk which means all of the models hair were styled with their products. I was also able to take a few products with me to try. I am currently putting them to the test. 🙂

Enjoy pictures from some of the collections:::

Leave a Reply

