This Skinny Girl Likes To Eat Too Edition

Who doesn’t love entering contests? I know I do and I barely win them. Well this go round, I get an email that I won $40 to spend at the new restaurant called Dunya Restaurant and Bar. This restaurant serves Modern American cuisine with a global Mediterranean twist. It is such a cute spot. I could see so many events happening here. There is a rooftop with an awesome view of U Street. The night my friend and I went, it was a beautiful sunset.

IMG_20140826_223751

I made a reservation and walked into nobody really there so the reservation didn’t even matter. I walked to the rooftop and saw that it was half off on wine bottles which is perfect if you want to be on a budget but also want more than one glass of wine. I went on a Tuesday so look out for that deal.

We looked through the menu for a while and debated on what we wanted. I went for the Roasted Half Chicken which is served with a minted quinoa in a green olives & preserved lemons sauce. It looked amazing but the chicken wasn’t as moist as I wanted it to be. My friend ordered crab cakes.

20140826_200036

I then ordered dessert because this skinny girl likes to eat. I ordered the Dark Chocolate Flour-less Cake (a la mode) which was light and good. I would definitely recommend this for dessert.

20140826_203400

My overall experience was okay here but maybe because this place is new and they are still figuring everything out. I did take a peek at their brunch menu which says they have $2 mimosas. That will definitely get me back in there and soon.

IMG_20140826_205238Oh hey, it’s just me when I was at Dunya rocking my H&M top that says, “If not now, when”….I keep this in mind as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

