It’s Time to Wine Down

So SkinnyPop says! We all love a good snack, well, at least, I do. I had the chance to really dive into Skinnypop and pair it with a wine. Sounds strange?! I thought so too, but I was up for the challenge!

I hunted down which stores carried SkinnyPop and they fun began. I was able to find three out of the six with some flavor. I thought that a flavor would be the best option to pair with a wine. Once the popcorn was selected, I was easily able to find the various wine to pair along with the Skinnypop flavors.

Here is a chart of what wines should be paired with which Skinnypop, just so you have an idea where all of this came from. 😉

SkinnyPop Wine

The popcorn that was selected was Jalapeno, Sea Salt & Pepper, and White Cheddar. The wine that was selected was Malbec, Pinot Grigio, and Sauvignon Blanc. And now, to the fun part!

Image-2

I started off with the Jalapeno and Pinot Grigio as a pair. I have to be very honest and say that this was probably the least favorite pairing. The Japaleno was pretty lightly flavored and I was hoping a little kick. Also, the Pino Grigio was a little off with the Jalapeno.

Next up was the White Cheddar with Malbec. These two made total sense. Think as if you have a cheese tray and you would, of course, pair it with a red wine. This was a really good combo. We couldn’t stop eating the white cheddar even after taste testing, so two thumbs up for this pairing!

Last was the Sea Sat & Pepper paired with Sauvignon Blanc. Let’s first start off by saying how great this Sauvignon Blanc was! These two paired together were pretty tasty. It gave me the idea of a sweet and salty combo. It was like eating a hearty meal and then paired with a sweeter wine. This was a pretty good combination as well.

Image (2)

This was a really fun taste test! Thanks so much Skinnypop for this experience! I can’t wait to see what you all come up with next!

Leave a Reply

