This Skinny Girl Likes to Eat Too Edition

I was seeing a restaurant slowly crossing over my Instagram. I went to The Gryphon Instagram page and saw they were new to the DC area. I decided it was time to try something new out. I did some research and got to come in and try out the Meat & Raw Bar located Dupont Circle.

I got to the restaurant right on time and was impressed with the set up. They have huge TV’s throughout the restaurant so a good place to watch a game. It was actually a game ending as I arrived. I was greeted by the hostess and got to try a drink from the bar as I waited for my table to be ready. The name of this drink I believe was the Artemis Vertue which contains Hendrix gin, lime juice, cucumber, mint, sweet vermouth, agave nectar, and a splash of soda. Yum!

DSC_0643

I luckily had a friend with me to experience this with and to help me eat the food. We had so much to eat! We started out by ordering three dishes. The Kale Salad which contains balsamic vinegar, sunflower seeds, currants, dried pineapple, and aged gouda. The salad was refreshing and kale was new to me and my friend and we were a fan. It was a hint of a sweet taste which worked with everything that was in the salad. The Mac N Cheese, still dreaming about it, was amazing! It is a three cheese Mac N Cheese with Smoked Gouda, Gruyere, and Cheddar. The other dish in this set of three we ordered was Short Ribs which is a pretty small dish but flavorful. This dish comes with roasted radishes which makes it a little spicy if you are looking for something spicy, pineapple mustard glaze, and scallion oil.

DSC_0646DSC_0649DSC_0647

We thought we were done and were about to order dessert because we were honestly just about full but this skinny girl likes to eat and the hostess recommended two dishes that actually ended up being our favorites next to the Mac N Cheese. The last three dishes were ordered by the amazing hostess and you might just have to show the picture of them to be able to taste them. I’m not big on seafood but this dish was delicious. It definitely had some spice to it and it just looked beautiful. The other dish I believe was the wet-aged bistro filet which came with delicious fried brussel sprouts, speck ham, and bearnaise sauce. 

DSC_0652DSC_0654

We ended with an apple pie type of dessert. The bread was warm underneath and the ice cream was just the perfect combination with it.

DSC_0655

I was all in all super impressed with the food and service. Everyone was really nice and knowledgeable. I will definitely be back because I also loved the red wine I tried and the Mac N Cheese is calling my name right now!

Leave a comment